The City Council meets every 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month at the Marshall Middle School at 5:30 p.m.

Mayor and Councilmembers are elected for four year terms.

pdfCity of Marshall Polling Locations
pdfWard Boundary Map

Minnesota Voter Information Portal


MayorByrnesRobert J. Byrnes

Home: 507-532-9001
Office: 507-337-2809

Serving his 6th term as Mayor (1992 to Present)
Served as a Councilmember for 6 years (1986 to 1992)

Bob Byrnes was born and raised in Waukon, Iowa where he attended Waukon High School. He received his Bachelor of Science Degree at the University of Wisconsin in Platteville, Wisconsin and has been a Marshall resident since 1979. Bob is currently the Director of Field Operations for the University of Minnesota Extension. He has been employed with the University of Minnesota Extension Service since 1979. Bob is involved in several community organizations. He is on the Board of Directors for the Southwest Regional Development Commission; past Chairman of the Board of Directors of Prairieland Economic Development Corporation; a member of the Marshall Industries Foundation. Some of the prestigious awards Bob has received are "Outstanding Elected Official" by the Minnesota Association of Emergency Managers; "Purcell Pinacle Award for Outstanding Humanitarian"; the University of Minnesota Community Service Award; and the "Distinguished Service Award" by the NACAA.

Bob and his wife Brenda have two adult children - Bridget and Brian.

Councilmembers-Ward I

Glenn Bayerkohler2 Glenn Bayerkohler

Home: 507-532-4883

 Serving his 1st term as a Councilmember (Ward I) - 2012 to present


Glenn Bayerkohler was born in Lakefield, Minnesota. He received his Bachelor of Science Degree in Mathematics, Business Administration and Accounting from Minnesota State University - Mankato, his Juris Doctor degree from William Mitchell College of Law, and his Masters of Professional Accountancy degree from the University of South Dakota. His certifications include: CPA, CMA and CFM. Glenn has been an accounting professor at Southwest Minnesota State University since 1988. He is a former member of the Marshall School Board. Glenn served in the Minnesota Army National Guard. He and his wife are members of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church of Marshall.

Glenn and his wife Carolyn have two grown sons - Aaron and Ryan

john John DeCramer

Home: 507-537-9551
Office: 507-337-2516

Serving his 1st term as a Councilmember (Ward I) - 2009 to present
John was born in Marshall and grew up on a dairy farm between Marshall and Lynd. He graduated from Lynd High School and then graduated from Southwest State College (currently known as SMSU) in Marshall. Since 1973, John has worked for BH Electronics, Inc. and now is the Vice President of Engineering. He has also operated an electronic equipment repair company in Marshall for 19 years. His hobbies are fishing and golf and spoiling a grandson when possible. He has served on the MMU Commission and the Economic Development Authority as well as Marshall Area Chamber of Commerce president and on several church committees.

He is married to Judy and they have two married children - Karilyn Lund of Coon Rapids, MN and Krisann Durbin of Bay City, TX.

Councilmembers-Ward II

davidsturrock David Sturrock

Home: 507-537-7678

Serving his 1st term as Councilmember (Ward II) - 2015 to present
Served as Councilmember (Ward I) - 2000 to 2004

David Sturrock was born in Lynwood, CA and grew up in Saratoga, CA. He received a B.S. in Marketing and M.A. in Political Science from San Jose State University, and a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of California, Riverside. He has lived in Marshall since 1996 and is a professor and department chairman at Southwest Minnesota State University.

David has extensive experience in local government, including service on the Marshall Utilities Board, Airport Commission, Charter Review Commission, Community Services Board and City Hall Renovation Task Force. He has been a member of both the Marshall and Lyon County Planning Commissions, and represented Ward One on the Marshall City Council in 2000-2004.

His community service includes Chairman of the Marshall Area Transportation Group and service on the Chamber of Commerce's government affairs and business development Committees. He is currently church council president and Cub Scout den leader. Earlier involvements include the Lyon County Historical Society Board, Marshall 125th Celebration and McKnight Partnership Welfare-to-Work Project. In 2008 he was a nominee for presidential elector from the 7th Congressional District.

David and Gwen reside on David Dr. with their grade school sons, Augie and Alex.

Larry Doom Larry Doom

Home: 507-532-9410
Office: 507-537-1523

 Serving his 2nd term as Councilmember (Ward II) - 2004 to present

Larry Doom was born in Cottonwood, Minnesota where he attended and graduated from Cottonwood Public High School. After graduation, he attended Alexandria Vocational School in Alexandria, Minnesota. Larry is a Sales Manager at D & M Implement, Inc. and has been employed with them since 1973.

Larry has been a committee member of the Planning and Zoning Commission for the City of Marshall. He is involved in Boy Scouts and a member of the Knights of Columbus.

Larry and his wife Jackie have two children - Lisa and Tate.

Councilmembers-Ward III

Ellayne Conyers2 Ellayne Conyers

Home: 507-532-6835

 Serving her 1st term as Councilmember (Ward III) - 2012 to present

Ellayne was born and grew up on a farm north of Hanley Falls. Ellayne attended Augsburg College in Minneapolis. She has lived in Marshall over 40 years. She first worked for the Marshall Schools, then for the Minnesota State Extension Service and finally as Director of the Lyon County Historical Museum for 21 years. Ellayne retired in 2011. She co-chaired the Marshall 125th five-day celebration in 1997, served two terms as Police Commissioner, Member of the Marshall Downtown Development Committee. She has written a weekly column for the Marshall Independent Newspaper and hosted the weekly Marshall News and Views program on Public Access Television for many years and continues to do so. She presently serves on the Marshall Community Services Board of Directors, the Marshall Cemetery Board and the Downtown Mural Committee.

She is married to LeRoy Conyers and they have four daughters and five grandchildren.

Craig Schafer Craig Schafer

Home: 507-476-4269

 Serving 1st term as a Councilmember (Ward III) - 2014 to present

I am a 1975 graduate from Hector High School in Hector, MN. My wife and I have been in Marshall since the spring of 1992. I have worked for the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency since 1990 as a State Program Administrator Principal in the Emergency Response Program. I am extremely proud to be serving as a councilmember in Marshall and feel that this is one of many ways that we have to "give back".

He is married to Debra and they have three adult children, one grandson who is proudly serving in the US Army and another grandchild on the way!

City Attorney

Dennis Simpson
Dennis Simpson

Quarnstrom Doering Pederson Leary & Murphy Law Offices
109 South 4th Street
Marshall, MN 56258

Office: 507-537-1441

Dennis Simpson was appointed by the Mayor and City Council as the City Attorney for a two-year term.